Education - Pre-K, K-12, Community College & University

Within Beaufort County, Beaufort County Schools public school district includes 14 different K-12 schools. These include elementary, primary, middle, high, and technical schools. Beaufort County also offers private, charter and Montessori school options.

Beaufort County Community College now through May 2023 offers free tuition for students. The Beaufort Promise program uses a combination of existing and new federal and state programs to pay for college credit courses or 50+ hour initial certification courses through the Division of Continuing Education. BCCC has a total enrollment of approximately 2,000 students who can earn up to an associate degree in 13 different fields. There are multiple options for post-graduate courses including a comprehensive and industry specific continuing education curriculum. 

East Carolina University (ECU), an accredited four-year university in Greenville, North Carolina is an easy 30-minute drive from Washington. The university has a total enrollment of over 21,000 and offers more than 100 undergraduate degrees and more than 75 master's programs.